Skip to content
Research peptides

NAD+ Injection Dosage Chart and Calculator: Why IV Differs

NAD+ injection dosage chart: units per dose by vial size for the 50-500 mg subcutaneous common protocol, a calculator, and why IV infusion is dosed differently.

The short version

Clinic protocols for subcutaneous or intramuscular NAD+ injection range from 50 to 500 mg per shot, 1 to 3 times a week. That is common practice from two clinic sources, not a trial-established dose. No regulator or published trial has set a dose for injectable or IV NAD+. Each clinic doses and times IV infusion differently, so it is not covered by this figure.

  • Clinic sources describe 50-500 mg per subcutaneous injection, 1-3 times a week. The two sources disagree on how far dosing goes.
  • No trial or regulator has established a dose for NAD+ injection or IV infusion.
  • IV infusion protocols vary by clinic in both dose and infusion time. IV infusion is not the same product as a subcutaneous shot.

No dose is FDA-approved for NAD+ injection or IV infusion, because no product has completed FDA review. This page reports what clinic dosing guides describe for the subcutaneous/IM shot style. It is not a recommendation. For the full IV-vs-subcutaneous picture and the two verified human studies, see the main NAD+ injection guide.

US legal status - Unapproved drug

No injectable or IV NAD+ product is FDA-approved. It reaches consumers through compounding pharmacies and IV-therapy clinics rather than FDA drug review.

NAD+ injection dosage: the common protocol

Clinic dosing guides most often describe 50-500 mg per subcutaneous injection, 1-3 times a week. That is common practice, not a dose any trial or regulator has established. The two sources behind this figure disagree sharply on how far dosing goes, which is why the range is wide; see “What is not established” below.

Common protocol

What is commonly used, not a dose established in trials. No regulator has set a dose for NAD+ (injection). Sources differ, so the ranges below span them.

Dose per administration
50-500 mg
How often
1-3 times a week by subcutaneous injection; many protocols start low, once weekly, and increase only if tolerated
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Cycle length
No set length in common use
Timing
Some protocols slow the injection rate or split the dose to reduce nausea, flushing or headache; this covers subcutaneous/IM shots only, not clinic IV infusions, which run over 30 minutes to several hours and are not captured by this site's protocol format.
Commonly paired with
Sermorelin, CJC-1295, Ipamorelin

Sources disagree on how far dosing goes: one caps at 100 mg once weekly after a titration; the other reports up to 500 mg per injection, 2-3 times a week, as a provider-set ceiling. Neither is a trial-established dose - no regulator or published human trial has set a dose for injectable or IV NAD+.

Plan a cycle in the protocol builder or work out injection volume in the dosage calculator.

The common NAD+ (injection) dose is 50-500 mg, 1-3 times a week by subcutaneous injection; many protocols start low, once weekly, and increase only if tolerated. From a 750 mg vial mixed with 1 mL of bacteriostatic water, 275 mg is 36.5 units (0.37 mL) on a U-100 insulin syringe.

NAD+ (injection) 750 mg vial: units per dose

Full 750 mg vial page: mixing, doses per vial, how long it lasts →

Water addedConcentration1 unit =50 mg275 mg500 mg
1 mL750 mg/mL7.5 mg6.5 units36.5 units66.5 units
2 mL375 mg/mL3.75 mg13.5 units73.5 unitsover 100 units
3 mL250 mg/mL2.5 mg20 unitsover 100 unitsover 100 units

NAD+ (injection) 500 mg vial: units per dose

Full 500 mg vial page: mixing, doses per vial, how long it lasts →

Water addedConcentration1 unit =50 mg275 mg500 mg
1 mL500 mg/mL5 mg10 units55 units100 units
2 mL250 mg/mL2.5 mg20 unitsover 100 unitsover 100 units
3 mL166.67 mg/mL1.67 mg30 unitsover 100 unitsover 100 units

All NAD+ (injection) vial sizes: 500 mg · 750 mg · 1,000 mg

Units are on a standard U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL), rounded to the nearest half unit - half-unit marks are on 0.3 mL syringes. Water volumes are examples: more water means more units per dose, not more doses per vial. For any other vial or dose, use the calculator below.

How many 750 mg vials a cycle takes

ScenarioDoseDoses a weekPer 4 weeksTotal750 mg vials
Low end of the common protocol50 mg14200 mg1
High end of the common protocol500 mg346,000 mg8

Whole vials, rounded up. Plan a cycle with your own numbers in the protocol builder. Keep mixed vials cold and use them within the window in how long reconstituted peptides last; where to inject: subcutaneous injection sites.

NAD+ IV infusion: no comparable dose figure

The two clinic sources behind the protocol above describe subcutaneous or intramuscular shots only. IV infusion is a different product. It is delivered in-clinic over 30 minutes to several hours, dosed and timed by each provider’s own protocol.

The one published pharmacokinetic study used a 3 micromol/min infusion rate for 6 hours in a research setting Grant 2019 - Grant R, Berg J, Mestayer R et al. A Pilot Study Investigating Changes in the Human Plasma and Urine NAD+ Metabolome During a 6 Hour Intravenous Infusion of NAD. Front Aging Neurosci. 2019;11:257., in the references below. That rate does not translate into a per-injection milligram amount comparable to the subcutaneous protocol above, so this page does not state one.

What the human studies measured, not dosed

Neither published human study tested a range of doses against each other, and neither is the source for the common-practice figures above. Those come from clinic dosing guides.

What is not established

  • No approved dose exists, for either route, because no product has completed FDA review.
  • No dose has been proven safe or effective by any regulator. The figures above are two clinics’ own common practice, not a demonstrated general result.
  • The two clinic sources disagree substantially. One caps subcutaneous dosing at 100 mg once weekly after a titration. The other allows up to 500 mg per injection, 2-3 times a week. Where you land is a provider decision, not something this page can resolve.
  • No published trial compares subcutaneous/IM injection against IV infusion for dose, absorption or outcome.

Who should not use it

No FDA-reviewed contraindication list exists, because no such review has happened. Nobody should self-direct an unapproved, compounded injectable around a current medical condition, medication or pregnancy.

NAD+ injection side effects and risks

The one published comparative study reported that IV NAD+ caused moderate-to-severe gastrointestinal symptoms, an increased heart rate and chest pressure during infusion. These resolved once the infusion finished Reyna 2026 - Reyna K, Heinzen G, Patel N et al. Intravenous infusion of nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD(+)) versus nicotinamide riboside (NR): a retrospective tolerability pilot study in a real-world setting. Front Aging. 2026;7:1652582., in the references below.

Separately, FDA’s warning letter to compounder GenoGenix LLC documents three patients who developed low blood pressure, uncontrollable shaking, shivers and body aches after infusion. The vial lot had tested positive for excessive bacterial endotoxins. That was a manufacturing failure at one compounder, not a property of NAD+ itself. It is a reminder that an unapproved compounded injectable carries no independent purity or sterility guarantee.

NAD+ (injection) dosage calculator

Preset to a 5 mg vial and 50,000 mcg, the low end of the common protocol. Enter your own vial size, water and dose to get the syringe units to draw.

Your vial

Printed on the vial. There is no standard size - enter what yours says.

This changes how much you draw - never how many doses the vial holds.


100 units per mL. 1 unit = 0.01 mL. This is what almost every insulin syringe sold is, in every barrel size.

Barrel size

Capacity only. A 1 mL U-100 syringe holds 100 units - the scale decides that, not the barrel.

Draw this much

2000units

= 20 mL on a 1 mL U-100 syringe

Concentration
2,500 mcg/mL
Exact volume
20 mL
Dose you actually get
50,000 mcg
Doses per vial(unaffected by water volume)
0
  • This dose needs 2000 units, but a 1 mL U-100 syringe only holds 100. It will not fit in one draw - use less water, or a larger barrel.

Email me these numbers

Your vial, water, dose, units and doses per vial, in your inbox with a link back to this calculator.

Your email stays with me at Peptide Decode: I never share or sell it (privacy policy). Not medical advice. Unsubscribe from any email.

Where to buy NAD+ (injection)

No NAD+ injection is FDA-approved, but clinics and telehealth services sell compounded NAD+ after a clinic visit or on a prescription. Clinic NAD+ shots start at $50 at The Good Life IV, Phoenix (as of 3 October 2026).

Every route for NAD+, with dated prices and its legal status →

Research vials of NAD+ (labelled not for human use)

A research vial is not the cosmetic, supplement or clinic product above. It is labelled not for human use, and the seller chooses how each batch is tested.

  1. 1.Next Level Pharm

    500 mg vial

    • No FDA warning letter found
    • Names its testing lab
    • Batch COAs published
    • Takes card payment
  2. 2.Spartan Peptides

    750 mg vial

    • No FDA warning letter found
    • Names its testing lab
  3. 3.BioEdge Research Labs

    500 mg vial

    • No FDA warning letter found
    • Names its testing lab
    • Batch COAs published

How research-labelled NAD+ differs, and what FDA has said →

See all vendors and how they compare →

Common questions

What is the usual NAD+ injection dose?

Clinic dosing guides I reviewed describe 50-500 mg per subcutaneous injection, 1-3 times a week. That is common practice, not a dose established by any trial or regulator. One source caps at 100 mg once weekly after a titration. The other allows up to 500 mg per injection, 2-3 times a week, as a provider-set ceiling.

What dose does NAD+ IV infusion use?

This page does not state one. Each clinic doses and times IV infusion differently. The one published pharmacokinetic study used a research infusion rate (3 micromol/min over 6 hours), which cannot be compared with a per-injection amount. So IV infusion is not covered by the protocol above.

Is there an FDA-approved NAD+ dose?

No. No injectable or IV NAD+ product is FDA-approved for any indication or dose.

Why does IV NAD+ need a slower infusion?

The one published comparative human study found IV NAD+ caused moderate-to-severe gastrointestinal symptoms, an increased heart rate and chest pressure during infusion. Clinics in that study slowed the infusion to manage this, averaging about 97 minutes, versus about 37 minutes for IV nicotinamide riboside in the same records.

What are the main risks?

The most-documented risk, from the one comparative study, is infusion-related symptoms: nausea, cramping, increased heart rate and chest pressure. Separately, FDA has documented a sterility failure at one compounder that led to three patients needing emergency care. No long-term human safety data exist for repeated dosing at clinic levels.

When should I stop and get medical care?

Call 911 in the US for signs of a severe allergic reaction (swelling of the face, lips, tongue or throat, or difficulty breathing) or chest pain. Also call for any severe or rapidly worsening symptom during or after an injection or infusion. Call Poison Control at 1-800-222-1222 for an unknown or excessive amount of anything sold as NAD+.

References (3 sources)

Bibliographic detail is fetched from PubMed, not written by me - so a citation here cannot drift from the paper it names. Study design comes from PubMed's own tags rather than my judgement.

  1. 1.Grant R, Berg J, Mestayer R et al. A Pilot Study Investigating Changes in the Human Plasma and Urine NAD+ Metabolome During a 6 Hour Intravenous Infusion of NAD. Front Aging Neurosci. 2019;11:257.StudyPMID 31572171full text
  2. 2.Reyna K, Heinzen G, Patel N et al. Intravenous infusion of nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD(+)) versus nicotinamide riboside (NR): a retrospective tolerability pilot study in a real-world setting. Front Aging. 2026;7:1652582.StudyPMID 41704678full text
  3. 3.America's Poison Centers - confirms 1-800-222-1222 as the national Poison Control number, free and confidential, 24 hours a day.- America's Poison Centersother